View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Did you have trouble finding what you were looking for?
Click here for our special store for hard-to-find and used items. 

Call Your Daughter Home (Reissue)

Call Your Daughter Home (Reissue)
$17.99

Melanie says: This is a story of three strong Southern women: a plantation owners wife, a freed slave, and an abused, poor white woman with daughters. Set in 1924 South Carolina and atmospherically written, this debut novel explores historical themes of the time: motherhood, poverty, bigotry, abuse, love and hope. As the characters' lives entwine, friendships start to grow despite their differences. Their voices and stories will remain with you long after you finish reading.


"Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company."
-- O, The Oprah Magazine

"A mesmerizing Southern tale...Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored."
-- Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours

For readers of Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce and unforgettable Southern women.

It's 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to keep her daughters safe.
Retta, who works for the Coles family, comes to Gertrude's aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued their small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.


ISBN: 
9780778309796
Author: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
April 7, 2020
0