View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Did you have trouble finding what you were looking for?
Click here for our special store for hard-to-find and used items. 

8-12 Year Old

Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal)

Barnhill, Kelly
$9.95
Vanquishers

Vanquishers

Bayron, Kalynn
$16.99

In the world of the Vanquishers, vampires were history . . . until now.

"A sharp vampire tale full of bite, heart, and humor." --Rena Barron, author of the Maya and the Rising Dark series

"Boog and her friends will capture your heart in an instant." --Mark Oshiro, author of The Insiders

Malika "Boog" Wilson and her best friends have grown up idolizing The Vanquishers, a group of heroic vampire hunters who wiped out the last horde of the undead decades ago. Nowadays, most people don't take even the most basic vampire precautions--the days of garlic wreaths and early curfews long gone--but Boog's parents still follow the old rules, much to her embarrassment.

When a friend goes missing, Boog isn't sure what to think. Could it be the school counselor, Mr. Rupert, who definitely seems to be hiding something? Or could it be something more dangerous? Boog is determined to save her friend, but is she ready to admit vampires might not be vanquished after all?

No one ever expected the Vanquishers to return, but if their town needs protection from the undead, Boog knows who to call.

Inspired by Buffy the Vampire Slayer and The Watchmen, this adventure launches readers into an exciting new series.

Pearl Hunter

Pearl Hunter

Beck, Miya T.
$9.99

Set in a world inspired by pre-Shogun era Japan, this is a stunning debut fantasy in the vein of Grace Lin about how a young pearl diver goes to the ends of the earth to rescue her twin sister, who has been stolen by a ghost whale.

Kai and Kishi share the same futon, the same face, and the same talent for pearl diving. But Kishi is the obedient daughter, while Kai tries to push the rules, and sometimes they fight. Still, when Kishi is stolen and killed by the legendary Ghost Whale, nothing will stop Kai from searching for her, deep in the ocean, hoping for a way to bring her back to life.

But such a rescue is beyond the power of an ordinary mortal. Kai strikes a deal with the gods: she'll steal a magic pearl in exchange for her sister's soul. As she journeys across treacherous land scape, Kai must navigate encounters with scheming bandits, a power-hungry war lord, and a legion of conniving fox spirits. And when a new friendship becomes something almost as powerful as her love for her sister, Kai must make impossible choices and risk everything just to get home again.

Woven through with Japanese culture and legends, this many-layered story will grip readers of all ages.

Pearl Hunter

Pearl Hunter

Beck, Miya T.
$17.99

Set in a world inspired by pre-Shogun era Japan, this is a stunning debut fantasy in the vein of Grace Lin about how a young pearl diver goes to the ends of the earth to rescue her twin sister, who has been stolen by a ghost whale.

Kai and Kishi share the same futon, the same face, and the same talent for pearl diving. But Kishi is the obedient daughter, while Kai tries to push the rules, and sometimes they fight. Still, when Kishi is stolen and killed by the legendary Ghost Whale, nothing will stop Kai from searching for her, deep in the ocean, hoping for a way to bring her back to life.

But such a rescue is beyond the power of an ordinary mortal. Kai strikes a deal with the gods: she'll steal a magic pearl in exchange for her sister's soul. As she journeys across treacherous land scape, Kai must navigate encounters with scheming bandits, a power-hungry war lord, and a legion of conniving fox spirits. And when a new friendship becomes something almost as powerful as her love for her sister, Kai must make impossible choices and risk everything just to get home again.

Woven through with Japanese culture and legends, this many-layered story will grip readers of all ages.

Penderwicks at Last

Penderwicks at Last

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99
Return to the place where it all began for a Penderwick wedding--and the finale to a National Book Award winning and New York Times bestselling series!

Lydia's older sister Rosalind is getting married and in the most perfect setting--Arundel! Now, the entire family is going back to the spot where they met their "honorary brother" Jeffrey and had endless adventures!

And sure enough, the adventures do not stop. There are close calls involving almost too many dogs to count, dances at bus stops. and the reappearance of a longtime enemy. But most of all, there are six siblings with a bond that's as unshakeable as ever.

The Penderwicks at Last may be the end of a cherished series, but the family we love will never be forgotten.

Penderwicks at Point Mouette

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99

Penderwicks in Spring

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99

Penderwicks on Gardam Street

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99

Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99
Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea

Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea

Blake, Ashley Herring
$7.99
For fans of Rebecca Stead and Ali Benjamin comes a poignant yet hopeful novel about grief from Ashley Herring Blake, the award-winning author of Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World--now in paperback!

Hazel Bly used to have the perfect family. But when a kayaking trip goes horribly wrong, Mum is suddenly gone forever and Hazel is left with a jagged scar on her face. After Mum's death, Hazel, her other mother, Mama, and her little sister Peach needed a fresh start. So for the last two years, the Bly girls have lived all over the country. They travel from town to town, never settling anywhere for more than a few months or so.

But when the family comes to the town of Rose Harbor, Maine, a small fog-draped beach town full of roses and rocks, Hazel senses a wildness to it that feels like magic. And when Mama runs into an old childhood friend Claire, suddenly Hazel's tight-knit world is infiltrated. To make it worse, she has a daughter Hazel's age, Lemon, who can't stop rambling on and on about the Rose Maid, a local myth a hundred and fifty years old about how a local girl was so heartbroken she turned into a mermaid.

Soon, Hazel finds herself just as obsessed with the Rose Maid as Lemon is--because what if magic were real? What if grief really could change you so much, you weren't even yourself anymore? What if instead you emerged from the darkness stronger than before?