View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Did you have trouble finding what you were looking for?
Click here for our special store for hard-to-find and used items. 

8-12 Year Old

Pearl Hunter

Pearl Hunter

Beck, Miya T.
$17.99

Set in a world inspired by pre-Shogun era Japan, this is a stunning debut fantasy in the vein of Grace Lin about how a young pearl diver goes to the ends of the earth to rescue her twin sister, who has been stolen by a ghost whale.

Kai and Kishi share the same futon, the same face, and the same talent for pearl diving. But Kishi is the obedient daughter, while Kai tries to push the rules, and sometimes they fight. Still, when Kishi is stolen and killed by the legendary Ghost Whale, nothing will stop Kai from searching for her, deep in the ocean, hoping for a way to bring her back to life.

But such a rescue is beyond the power of an ordinary mortal. Kai strikes a deal with the gods: she'll steal a magic pearl in exchange for her sister's soul. As she journeys across treacherous land scape, Kai must navigate encounters with scheming bandits, a power-hungry war lord, and a legion of conniving fox spirits. And when a new friendship becomes something almost as powerful as her love for her sister, Kai must make impossible choices and risk everything just to get home again.

Woven through with Japanese culture and legends, this many-layered story will grip readers of all ages.

Through a Clouded Mirror

Through a Clouded Mirror

Beck, Miya T.
$19.99

Inspired by The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and set in a magical imperial Japan, this is a breathtaking fantasy adventure from the acclaimed author of The Pearl Hunter.

Yuki Snow wishes she were anywhere but here.

She hates Santa Dolores, where her mom and stepdad just moved the family. Her BFF back home, Julio, has already forgotten his promise to stay in touch--and worse, he like likes Yuki's mortal enemy. At her new school, the kids think she's either invisible or a know-it-all nerd.

The only friend she's made so far is the shopkeeper at a Japanese antiques store. Among the treasures there is an ancient brass mirror supposedly once owned by celebrated Japanese writer Sei Shonagon. It's also rumored to be a portal to Shonagon's world, which opens every hundred years. So when a woman with long jet-black hair and flowing silk robes appears in the glass, beckoning, Yuki knows there's only one thing to do--step through to the unknown....

Glorious Race of Magical Beasts

Glorious Race of Magical Beasts

Bell, Alex
$9.95
An out-of-this-world adventure packed with peril, magic, and incredible animals.

Twelve-year-old Eli is an apprentice librarian at the largest library in the world. But when his grandmother falls ill, he enters the Glorious Race of Magical Beasts to raise money for her treatment.

This annual race is always held in the most perilous places and is full of spiky dangers. Most participants seek out unicorns and dragons to help them on their conquest. But not Eli. He embarks on this journey with his trusted pet and friend, Humphrey, his moon tortoise. Moon tortoises aren't suited to racing and Eli is no natural adventurer. But he soon finds himself in an unlikely partnership with Raven, a rule-breaker and skilled archer, and her ice hare - one of the fastest animals in the world.

If the two children put aside their differences and work together, they might just reach the finish line!

Train of Dark Wonders

Train of Dark Wonders

Bell, Alex
$8.99
Jump aboard for a journey to strange and spectacular lands...

The magical must-read middle-grade novel from the bestselling author of THE POLAR BEAR EXPLORERS' CLUB and FROZEN CHARLOTTE.

Bess has always loved her grandfather's collection of curiosities. So she's delighted when she's handed the keys to his Odditorium. But unless she finds a way to draw in the crowds, she'll have to close its doors for good.

When a mysterious train pulls into town, bound for The Land of Halloween Sweets, Bess hatches a plan and sneaks onboard. She is soon discovered by Beau the puppeteer, Louie the violinist and Maria the fire witch. Eager to join their adventure, Bess sets out to search for the rarest sweet of all - the ghostly gobstopper.

But the land is ruled by the fearsome Candymaker. And beneath the sugary surface, things are more dangerous than they first appear...

Penderwicks at Last

Penderwicks at Last

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99
Return to the place where it all began for a Penderwick wedding--and the finale to a National Book Award winning and New York Times bestselling series!

Lydia's older sister Rosalind is getting married and in the most perfect setting--Arundel! Now, the entire family is going back to the spot where they met their "honorary brother" Jeffrey and had endless adventures!

And sure enough, the adventures do not stop. There are close calls involving almost too many dogs to count, dances at bus stops. and the reappearance of a longtime enemy. But most of all, there are six siblings with a bond that's as unshakeable as ever.

The Penderwicks at Last may be the end of a cherished series, but the family we love will never be forgotten.

Penderwicks at Point Mouette

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99

Penderwicks in Spring

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99

Penderwicks on Gardam Street

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99

Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Birdsall, Jeanne
$8.99
Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea

Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea

Blake, Ashley Herring
$7.99
For fans of Rebecca Stead and Ali Benjamin comes a poignant yet hopeful novel about grief from Ashley Herring Blake, the award-winning author of Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World--now in paperback!

Hazel Bly used to have the perfect family. But when a kayaking trip goes horribly wrong, Mum is suddenly gone forever and Hazel is left with a jagged scar on her face. After Mum's death, Hazel, her other mother, Mama, and her little sister Peach needed a fresh start. So for the last two years, the Bly girls have lived all over the country. They travel from town to town, never settling anywhere for more than a few months or so.

But when the family comes to the town of Rose Harbor, Maine, a small fog-draped beach town full of roses and rocks, Hazel senses a wildness to it that feels like magic. And when Mama runs into an old childhood friend Claire, suddenly Hazel's tight-knit world is infiltrated. To make it worse, she has a daughter Hazel's age, Lemon, who can't stop rambling on and on about the Rose Maid, a local myth a hundred and fifty years old about how a local girl was so heartbroken she turned into a mermaid.

Soon, Hazel finds herself just as obsessed with the Rose Maid as Lemon is--because what if magic were real? What if grief really could change you so much, you weren't even yourself anymore? What if instead you emerged from the darkness stronger than before?