View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Did you have trouble finding what you were looking for?
Click here for our special store for hard-to-find and used items. 

8-12 Year Old

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret.

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret.

Blume, Judy
$11.99
Now a major motion picture starring Rachel McAdams and Kathy Bates!
A Time Best YA Book of All Time

Celebrate the legacy of the bestselling and iconic Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret with this special edition, featuring a deluxe faux-leather embossed cover that looks and feels as vibrant as the story within.

Margaret Simon, almost twelve, likes long hair, tuna fish, the smell of rain, and things that are pink. She's just moved from New York City to Farbook, New Jersey, and is anxious to fit in with her new friends--Nancy, Gretchen, and Janie. When they form a secret club to talk about private subjects like boys, bras, and getting their first periods, Margaret is happy to belong.

But none of them can believe Margaret doesn't have religion, and that she isn't going to the Y or the Jewish Community Center. What they don't know is Margaret has her own very special relationship with God. She can talk to God about everything--family, friends, even Moose Freed, her secret crush.

Margaret is funny and real. As you read her story, you'll know why this book has been the favorite of millions of readers. It's as if Margaret is talking right to you, sharing her secrets with a friend.

Midnight Brigade

Midnight Brigade

Borba, Adam
$7.99
Harkening to classics such as Roald Dahl's The BFG, this heartwarming story highlights the power of friendship and the importance of finding your voice.

Carl Chesterfield wishes he could speak up--whether that means being honest with his father about the family's new (and failing) food truck, reaching out to a potential friend, or alerting others to the fact that monsters might be secretly overrunning his hometown of Pittsburgh. There's plenty to fret over. And plenty to question.

When a flyer about a mysterious monster-seeking group called the Midnight Brigade catches his eye, Carl sees an opportunity to find answers. Little does he know, his curiosity will lead him to find an incredible discovery under one of his city's magnificent bridges and to be bolder than he ever imagined. Chock-full of humor and heart, this is the quirky tale of three unexpected friends and the crankiest troll with a heart of gold.

Name of This Book Is Secret -- Secret Series 1

Name of This Book Is Secret -- Secret Series 1

Bosch, Pseudonymous; Ford, Gil
$9.99
Read the series that's sold more than 2 million copies--if you dare!

Warning: this description has not been authorized by Pseudonymous Bosch. As much as he'd love to sing the praises of his book (he is very vain), he wouldn't want you to hear about his brave 11-year old heroes, Cass and Max-Ernest. Or about how a mysterious box of vials, the Symphony of Smells, sends them on the trail of a magician who has vanished under strange (and stinky) circumstances. And he certainly wouldn't want you to know about the hair-raising adventures that follow and the nefarious villains they face. You see, not only is the name of this book secret, the story inside is, too. For it concerns a secret. A Big Secret.

CatStronauts: Mission Moon: Mission Moon

Brockington, Drew
$9.99
Nothing Interesting Ever Happens to Ethan Fairmont

Nothing Interesting Ever Happens to Ethan Fairmont

Brooks, Nick
$16.99
E.T. meets Stranger Things in this middle-grade novel series from author and award-winning filmmaker Nick Brooks. With crossover appeal, this fun, engaging series has plenty of nostalgia nods for adults to appreciate as well as young readers.

Something cool happening in Ferrous City? Not a chance. Until one day . . . when self-proclaimed genius inventor Ethan Fairmont runs into an abandoned car factory to avoid a local bully and accidentally stumbles across his ex-best friend Kareem, new kid Juan Carlos, and an extraterrestrial visitor. Cheese (the alien) is stuck on Earth and in need of some serious repairs, spicy snacks--and absolute, total secrecy. That's easier said than done when mysterious agents descend on Ferrous City to search for Cheese. With time running out and their family and friends in potential danger, can Ethan, Kareem, and Juan Carlos pull off an intergalactic rescue before they're all found out?

Weaving issues of racial profiling, community struggles, and everyday life in a fast-paced science fiction adventure, Brooks's debut middle-grade series is destined to be a favorite out-of-this-world adventure for kids 9-12. A timely--and timeless--sci-fi epic for fans of Tristen Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky and the Artemis Fowl series.

Hardcover with dust jacket; 240 pages; 5.5 x 8.3 in

Bad Kitty Drawn to Trouble (Graphic Novel)

Bad Kitty Drawn to Trouble (Graphic Novel)

Bruel, Nick
$13.99

Zombies! Talking turnips! Puppy! Kitty takes 'em all on, in full color! But her mettle is really tested when she encounters none other than her creator.

In the latest full-color reissue of the New York Times-bestselling series, Kitty encounters what may be her most formidable foe yet: her creator! Kitty learns that feline manipulation works both ways--especially when you're at the wrong end of your author's pencil. Along the way, Nick shows kids how a book is created, despite the frequent interruptions from you-know-who.

Bad Kitty School Daze (Graphic Novel)

Bad Kitty School Daze (Graphic Novel)

Bruel, Nick
$13.99

The world's favorite feisty feline goes to school . . . obedience school. And Bad Kitty faces her toughest challenge yet, in full color!

In the latest full-color reissue of the New York Times-bestselling series, Kitty and Puppy are out of control! They're screaming, fighting, hissing, and drooling all over the house, and all of the commotion is upsetting Baby. Time for school--obedience school, that is. Can Kitty learn to follow the rules and make friends with the other students, or will she bring chaos to the classroom?

Find out in Bad Kitty's hilarious (mis)adventure!

Bad Kitty: Supercat (Graphic Novel)

Bad Kitty: Supercat (Graphic Novel)

Bruel, Nick
$13.99

The phenomenally successful Bad Kitty series is purr-fect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Dog Man and Ben Clanton's Narwhal and Jelly series, reluctant readers, comic book fans, and cranky cats.

It's been a long time since Kitty has had a play date. So, her owners decide it's about time she interacts with some friends in Bad Kitty: Supercat, a full color chapter book in Nick Bruel's New York Times bestselling series.

But the play date takes a turn when Kitty and her friend, Strange Kitty, don their armor and become...Super Cat and Captain FantastiCat!

Together, they must go on a scavenger hunt across the world (their house and yard) and recover the Orbs of Destiny (some dog balls) in order to prevent the 92 universes from being turned into cheese by the nefarious Dr. Lagomorph....

Will they succeed in their mission? Or will the world as we know it descend into chaos and curds?

Classic Starts®: The Secret Garden

Classic Starts®: The Secret Garden

Burnett, Frances Hodgson
$9.99
When the newly orphaned Mary Lennox leaves her native India and arrives at her uncle's mansion in Yorkshire, everything seems strange to her. Then Mary hears of a mysterious, neglected garden. With the help of some new friends, she plans to uncover its secrets . . . and make it blossom once again.
Secret Garden

Secret Garden

Burnett, Frances Hodgson
$30.00

The Secret Garden tells the story of Mary Lennox, a child who is spoiled, unliked, and tragically orphaned. She is sent to live with her uncle, who resides in a magnificent manor in the Yorkshire countryside. Mary discovers a garden tucked away in the manor's grounds, and as the dilapidated garden transforms, so does the young girl. This book, which powerfully shows the healing power of nature, has resonated with generations of readers.

Now fans of all ages can rediscover The Secret Garden in this beautiful clothbound edition featuring the exquisite color illustrations by Charles Robinson that appeared in the original British edition of 1911. A new introduction by Alice A. Carter, an expert on Golden Age illustration, discusses the earliest illustrators of Frances Hodgson Burnett's timeless tale.