View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Did you have trouble finding what you were looking for?
Click here for our special store for hard-to-find and used items. 

8-12 Year Old

Bad Kitty School Daze (Graphic Novel)

Bad Kitty School Daze (Graphic Novel)

Bruel, Nick
$13.99

The world's favorite feisty feline goes to school . . . obedience school. And Bad Kitty faces her toughest challenge yet, in full color!

In the latest full-color reissue of the New York Times-bestselling series, Kitty and Puppy are out of control! They're screaming, fighting, hissing, and drooling all over the house, and all of the commotion is upsetting Baby. Time for school--obedience school, that is. Can Kitty learn to follow the rules and make friends with the other students, or will she bring chaos to the classroom?

Find out in Bad Kitty's hilarious (mis)adventure!

Bad Kitty: Supercat (Graphic Novel)

Bad Kitty: Supercat (Graphic Novel)

Bruel, Nick
$13.99

The phenomenally successful Bad Kitty series is purr-fect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Dog Man and Ben Clanton's Narwhal and Jelly series, reluctant readers, comic book fans, and cranky cats.

It's been a long time since Kitty has had a play date. So, her owners decide it's about time she interacts with some friends in Bad Kitty: Supercat, a full color chapter book in Nick Bruel's New York Times bestselling series.

But the play date takes a turn when Kitty and her friend, Strange Kitty, don their armor and become...Super Cat and Captain FantastiCat!

Together, they must go on a scavenger hunt across the world (their house and yard) and recover the Orbs of Destiny (some dog balls) in order to prevent the 92 universes from being turned into cheese by the nefarious Dr. Lagomorph....

Will they succeed in their mission? Or will the world as we know it descend into chaos and curds?

Classic Starts®: The Secret Garden

Classic Starts®: The Secret Garden

Burnett, Frances Hodgson
$9.99
When the newly orphaned Mary Lennox leaves her native India and arrives at her uncle's mansion in Yorkshire, everything seems strange to her. Then Mary hears of a mysterious, neglected garden. With the help of some new friends, she plans to uncover its secrets . . . and make it blossom once again.
Secret Garden

Secret Garden

Burnett, Frances Hodgson; Tudo
$9.99
What secrets lie behind the doors at Misselthwaite Manor? Recently arrived at her uncle's estate, orphaned Mary Lennox is spoiled, sickly, and certain she won't enjoy living there. Then she discovers the arched doorway into an overgrown garden, shut up since the death of her aunt ten years earlier. Mary soon begins transforming it into a thing of beauty--unaware that she is changing too.

But Misselthwaite hides another secret, as mary discovers one night. High in a dark room, away from the rest of the house, lies her young cousin, Colin, who believes he is an incurable invalid, destined to die young. His tantrums are so frightful, no one can reason with him. If only, Mary hopes, she can get Colin to love the secret garden as much as she does, its magic will work wonders on him.

Escape to the River Sea

Escape to the River Sea

Carroll, Emma
$14.99

Beautiful and full of adventure, Escape to the River Sea is Emma Carroll's compelling novel inspired by Eva Ibbotson's bestselling, classic masterpiece, Journey to the River Sea.

'Unputdownable storytelling. I loved it.' - Hilary McKay, Costa Award-winning author of The Skylark's War

In 1946, Rosa Sweetman, a young Kindertransport girl, is longing for her family to claim her. The war in Europe is over and she is the only child left at Westwood, a rambling country estate in the north of England, where she'd taken refuge seven years earlier.

The arrival of a friend of the family, Yara Fielding, starts an adventure that will take Rosa deep into the lush beauty of the Amazon rainforest in search of jaguars, ancient giant sloths and somewhere to belong. What she finds is Yara's lively, welcoming family on the banks of the river and, together, they face a danger greater than she could ever have imagined.

Featuring places and characters known and loved by fans of Journey to the River Sea (including, among others, Maia, Finn, Miss Minton and Clovis) this spectacular new chapter in the story tells of the next generation and the growing threats to the Amazon rainforest that continue to this day.

Fifty-Four Things Wrong with Gwendolyn Rogers

Fifty-Four Things Wrong with Gwendolyn Rogers

Carter, Caela
$7.99

From the critically acclaimed author of the ALA Notable and Charlotte Huck Honor Book Forever, or a Long, Long Time comes a moving own-voices story that shines a light on how one girl's learning differences are neither right nor wrong...just perfectly individual. For fans of Alyson Gerber, Cammie McGovern, and Kathryn Erskine.

No one can figure out what Gwendolyn Rogers's problem is--not her mom, or her teachers, or any of the many therapists she's seen. But Gwendolyn knows she doesn't have just one thing wrong with her: she has fifty-four.

At least, according to a confidential school report (that she read because she is #16. Sneaky, not to mention #13. Impulsive). So Gwendolyn needs a plan, because if she doesn't get these fifty-four things under control, she's not going to be able to go to horse camp this summer with her half-brother, Tyler.

But Tyler can't help her because there's only one thing "wrong" with him: ADHD.

And her best friend Hettie can't help her because there's nothing wrong with Hettie. She's perfect.

So Gwendolyn is hopeless until she remembers the one thing that helped her mother when her own life was out of control. Or actually, the twelve things. Can these Twelve Steps that cured her mother somehow cure Gwendolyn too?

Sisterhood of Sleuths

Sisterhood of Sleuths

Chambliss Bertman, Jennifer
$8.99

In this riveting mystery, an old photo found in a box of Nancy Drew books could be the key to unraveling a family secret--perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Trenton Lee Stewart.

Maizy always assumed she knew everything about her grandmother, Jacuzzi. So when a box full of vintage Nancy Drew books gets left at her mom's thrift store, Maizy is surprised to find an old photo of her grandmother and two other women tucked beneath the collection. Stranger still, when Maizy shows the photo to Jacuzzi she feigns ignorance, insisting the woman is someone else. Determined to learn the truth -- and inspired by the legacy of Nancy Drew -- Maizy launches her own investigation with the help of new friends, Nell and Cam. What they discover not only points to the origins of the iconic series, but uncovers a truth from the past that will lead to self-discovery in the present, connecting three generations of women. 

This intergenerational mystery filled with literary history, friendship, and family secrets delivers a captivating tribute to the world's most famous girl detective.

An Indie Next Pick
An Amazon Top 20 Children's Book of the Year
A Barnes and Noble Most Anticipated Book

A Common Sense Selection for Families

"Sisterhood of Sleuths reminded me of everything I loved about the Nancy Drew books, and introduced me to a new heroine worth rooting for!" --Jennifer A. Nielsen, New York Times bestselling author of The False Prince

Wishkeeper's Apprentice

Wishkeeper's Apprentice

Chivers Khoo, Rachel
$16.99
Wishes do come true--with some help from Felix and his quirky mentor, Mr. Beewinkle--in this magical adventure brimming with the power of hope.

When ten-year-old Felix drops a penny in the wishing fountain at the center of town, he really doesn't expect his sixteen-year-old sister to suddenly like him again, or to offer to share a cinnamon bun or watch cartoons like they used to. She hasn't even remembered she was supposed to give him a ride home! But someone else is at the fountain too: a strange old man with a fishing pole who claims to be invisible. To Felix's amazement, he learns that the old man is a Wishkeeper, and he needs an apprentice! But being a Wishkeeper's apprentice isn't just about organizing incoming wishes and untangling wish snags: a strange wolf-man who's been haunting Felix's dreams is real and a threat to every wish that has ever been granted in the town of Whittlestone, the town's Wishkeeper, and Felix himself. With lively illustrations, this sweet adventure bubbles with charm and heart.

Efrén Divided

Efrén Divided

Cisneros, Ernesto
$16.99

Winner of the Pura Belpré Award!

"We need books to break open our hearts, so that we might feel more deeply, so that we might be more human in these unkind times. This is a book doing work of the spirit in a time of darkness." --Sandra Cisneros, author of The House on Mango Street

Efrén Nava's Amá is his Superwoman--or Soperwoman, named after the delicious Mexican sopes his mother often prepares. Both Amá and Apá work hard all day to provide for the family, making sure Efrén and his younger siblings Max and Mía feel safe and loved.

But Efrén worries about his parents; although he's American-born, his parents are undocumented. His worst nightmare comes true one day when Amá doesn't return from work and is deported across the border to Tijuana, México.

Now more than ever, Efrén must channel his inner Soperboy to help take care of and try to reunite his family.

A glossary of Spanish words is included in the back of the book.

Beezus and Ramona

Cleary, Beverly
$6.99