View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Did you have trouble finding what you were looking for?
Click here for our special store for hard-to-find and used items. 

8-12 Year Old

Out of My Heart

Out of My Heart

Draper, Sharon M.
$9.99
A New York Times bestseller!

Melody faces her fears to follow her passion in this stunning sequel to the acclaimed, New York Times bestselling middle grade novel Out of My Mind.

Melody, the huge-hearted heroine of Out of My Mind, is a year older, and a year braver. And now with her Medi-talker, she feels nothing's out of her reach, not even summer camp. There have to be camps for differently-abled kids like her, and she's going to sleuth one out. A place where she can trek through a forest, fly on a zip line, and even ride on a horse! A place where maybe she really can finally make a real friend, make her own decisions, and even do things on her own--the dream!

By the light of flickering campfires and the power of thunderstorms, through the terror of unexpected creatures in cabins and the first sparkle of a crush, Melody's about to discover how brave and strong she really is.

Book of Stolen Dreams

Book of Stolen Dreams

Farr, David
$18.99
An exhilarating, wondrous middle grade debut about a brother and sister on a quest that "swoops from thrilling to terrifying to heartwarming and back again" (BookPage) to defeat a tyrannical ruler and protect a magical book. "[W]ill appeal to readers of Kelly Barnhill and Lemony Snicket" (Publishers Weekly).

Rachel and Robert live a gray, dreary life under the rule of cruel and calculating Charles Malstain. That is, until one night, when their librarian father enlists their help to steal a forbidden book.

Before their father is captured, Rachel and Robert are given one mission: find the missing final page.

But to uncover the secrets of The Book of Stolen Dreams, the siblings must face darkness and combat many evils to be rewarded with the astonishing, magical truth about the book. Nevertheless, they resolve to do everything in their power to stop it from falling into Charles Malstain's hands. For if it does, he could rule their world forever.

Voyage of the Sparrowhawk

Voyage of the Sparrowhawk

Farrant, Natasha
$17.95

In the aftermath of World War One, everyone in the small town of Barton is rebuilding their lives. Ben needs to find his brother, Sam--who was wounded in action and is now missing--if he wants to avoid being sent to the orphanage. Lotti's horrible aunt and uncle want to send her away from her beloved home to boarding school, just when she has successfully managed to get expelled from her last one.

When a chance encounter brings the two children together, each recognizes the other as a kindred spirit. But just as they've found their feet, disaster strikes, and Ben and Lotti must run away. They hatch a plan to cross the English Channel on Ben's narrowboat, the Sparrowhawk, and track down Sam in France. But there's something in France that Lotti is looking for, too. . . .

Funny, heartwarming, and wise, Voyage of the Sparrowhawk is full of high stakes, twists and connections, and--most of all--adventure.

Unsettled

Unsettled

Faruqi, Reem
$7.99

A Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year - Kid's Indie Next List - Featured in Today Show's AAPI Heritage Month list - A Kirkus Children's Best Book of 2021 - A National Council of Teachers of English Notable Verse Novel - Jane Addams 2022 Children's Book Award Finalist - 2021 Nerdy Award Winner - Muslim Bookstagram Award Winner for Best Middle School Book

For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah's Lunchbox.

"A lyrical coming of age story exploring family, immigration, and most of all belonging." --Aisha Saeed, New York Times bestselling author ofAmal Unbound

"This empowering story will resonate with people who have struggled to both fit in and stay true to themselves." --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor author of The Night Diary

"A gorgeously written story, filled with warmth and depth." --Hena Khan, author ofAmina's Voice

When her family moves from Pakistan to Peachtree City, all Nurah wants is to blend in, yet she stands out for all the wrong reasons. Nurah's accent, floral-print kurtas, and tea-colored skin make her feel excluded, until she meets Stahr at swimming tryouts.

And in the water Nurah doesn't want to blend in. She wants to win medals like her star athlete brother, Owais--who is going through struggles of his own in the U.S. Yet when sibling rivalry gets in the way, she makes a split-second decision of betrayal that changes their fates.

Ultimately Nurah slowly gains confidence in the form of strong swimming arms, and also gains the courage to stand up to bullies, fight for what she believes in, and find her place.

Ever Storms

Ever Storms

Foody, Amanda
$17.99
Barclay and his friends find new dangers and fresh adventure when they encounter mysterious sandstorms in the Desert in this "engaging, dragon lover's fantasy" (School Library Journal) that's the third book of the New York Times bestselling Wilderlore series.

After saving the Sea, Barclay and his fellow apprentices are eager to take part in a new kind of adventure--the Symposium, a set of courses that all apprentices of the Lore Keeper Guild need to pass before they can take their licensing exam. Barclay is excited to travel to the Desert to study at the University of Al Faradh, the most respected school in all the Wilderlands, and to reunite with the new friends he made at the Sea.

He's slightly less excited about the Tourney, the traditional, good-natured prank war between the various apprentice tracks. As an Elsie, he's pretty sure he'll have enough on his hands keeping up with the Symposium without having to worry about stink bombs and slime warfare.

But as mysterious, unnatural sandstorms start to appear around the Desert, there are more than just exams and bragging rights at stake. And the appearance of an exclusive, magical library might just be the key to everything...

Frankie & Bug

Frankie & Bug

Forman, Gayle
$8.99
"Joyful, occasionally heartbreaking, deeply moving." --R. J. Palacio, bestselling author of Wonder

In the debut middle grade novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Gayle Forman comes a poignant and powerful coming-of-age story that follows a young girl and her new friend as they learn about family, friendship, allyship, and finding your way in a complicated world.

It's the summer of 1987, and all ten-year-old Bug wants to do is go to the beach with her older brother and hang out with the locals on the boardwalk. But Danny wants to be with his own friends, and Bug's mom is too busy, so Bug is stuck with their neighbor Philip's nephew, Frankie.

Bug's not too excited about hanging out with a kid she's never met, but they soon find some common ground. And as the summer unfolds, they find themselves learning some important lessons about each other, and the world.

Like what it means to be your true self and how to be a good ally for others. That family can be the people you're related to, but also the people you choose to have around you. And that even though life isn't always fair, we can all do our part to make it more just.

Alone

Alone

Freeman, Megan E.
$8.99
Perfect for fans of Hatchet and the I Survived series, this harrowing middle grade debut novel-in-verse from a Pushcart Prize-nominated poet tells the story of a young girl who wakes up one day to find herself utterly alone in her small Colorado town.

When twelve-year-old Maddie hatches a scheme for a secret sleepover with her two best friends, she ends up waking up to a nightmare. She's alone--left behind in a town that has been mysteriously evacuated and abandoned.

With no one to rely on, no power, and no working phone lines or internet access, Maddie slowly learns to survive on her own. Her only companions are a Rottweiler named George and all the books she can read. After a rough start, Maddie learns to trust her own ingenuity and invents clever ways to survive in a place that has been deserted and forgotten.

As months pass, she escapes natural disasters, looters, and wild animals. But Maddie's most formidable enemy is the crushing loneliness she faces every day. Can Maddie's stubborn will to survive carry her through the most frightening experience of her life?

Bear Bottom

Bear Bottom

Gibbs, Stuart
$8.99
In the seventh novel in New York Times bestselling Stuart Gibbs's FunJungle series, Teddy Fitzroy returns as FunJungle's resident sleuth to solve the disappearances of endangered bison and an irreplaceable necklace.

Teddy Fitzroy, his family, and some other FunJungle employees have been invited to visit a bison ranch just outside Yellowstone National Park that FunJungle's owner, J.J. McCracken, is considering purchasing. But as usual, trouble isn't far behind.

The ranch's endangered bison have been mysteriously disappearing. Then a massive local grizzly bear named Sasquatch breaks into the house, causing chaos. In the aftermath, Kandace McCracken discovers that her exceptionally expensive sapphire necklace has vanished.

Was it stolen? Or did Sasquatch eat it? (And if so, can it be recovered?) And what's been happening to the bison?

With over a dozen suspects, it's up to Teddy to detangle this hairy situation, before his family or friends--or any more expensive objects--become dinner.

Charlie Thorne and the Royal Society

Charlie Thorne and the Royal Society

Gibbs, Stuart
$18.99
In the fourth installment of the New York Times bestselling Charlie Thorne series--which #1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Grabenstein called "a real page-burner"--Charlie searches for Isaac Newton's secret treasure across Europe and Australia.

Charlie Thorne is a genius. Charlie Thorne is fearless. Charlie Thorne may have finally met her match.

Charlie Thorne is used to being on the run. Ever since she was recruited by the CIA to track down Einstein's most dangerous equation, Charlie--and former CIA agents Dante Garcia and Milana Moon--have traveled around the world to prevent history's greatest discoveries from falling into the wrong hands. But after beating others to the secrets hidden by Einstein, Darwin, and Cleopatra, they find they are not the only ones searching for an immensely powerful discovery of Isaac Newton's.

From a chase over the rooftops of Cambridge University to scaling the Sydney Harbour Bridge to skirting a volcanic eruption, Charlie will need to think one step ahead of her opponents to follow Newton's trail of devious clues and keep herself out of the hands of the many enemies who are hot on her tail.

Labyrinth of Doom

Labyrinth of Doom

Gibbs, Stuart
$12.99
Knight-in-training Tim and his best friend, Belinda, embark on a quest to save Princess Grace in this second book in the hilarious, highly illustrated Once Upon a Tim middle grade series from New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs.

Prince Ruprecht is VERY UPSET that knights-in-training, Tim and Belinda, have thwarted his plans and ruined his chances with Princess Grace. And so, to get even, he has kidnapped the princess and trapped her in the most complicated, dangerous, complex, dastardly, biggest (okay you get the point)...and scariest maze in all the world!

Now it's up to Tim, Belinda, Ferkle, and Rover to fend off menacing beasts (like the minotaur), conquer treacherous obstacles (like chasms filled with cave sharks), find their way through the labyrinth (which is very tricky), and rescue the princess before time runs out. Oh, and also they need to remember how to get back out again...or they'll be trapped inside the maze forever.