View your shopping cart.

Primary links

 

20% of each sale through this site goes to support the NewGate School when you use the coupon code NEWGATE during checkout. 

New Gate

Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs

Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs

America's Test Kitchen Kids
$19.99
More Info

The #1 New York Times Best Seller!
IACP Award Winner

Want to bake the most-awesome-ever cupcakes? Or surprise your family with breakfast tacos on Sunday morning? Looking for a quick snack after school? Or maybe something special for a sleepover? It's all here. Learn to cook like a pro--it's easier than you think.

For the first time ever, America's Test Kitchen is bringing their scientific know-how, rigorous testing, and hands-on learning to KIDS in the kitchen!

Using kid-tested and approved recipes, America's Test Kitchen has created THE cookbook every kid chef needs on their shelf. Whether you're cooking for yourself, your friends, or your family, The Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs has delicious recipes that will wow!

  • Recipes were thoroughly tested by more than 750 kids to get them just right for cooks of all skill levels--including recipes for breakfast, snacks and beverages, dinners, desserts, and more.
  • Step-by-step photos of tips and techniques will help young chefs feel like pros in their own kitchen
  • Testimonials (and even some product reviews!) from kid test cooks who worked alongside America's Test Kitchen will encourage young chefs that they truly are learning the best recipes from the best cooks.
  • By empowering young chefs to make their own choices in the kitchen, America's Test Kitchen is building a new generation of confident cooks, engaged eaters, and curious experimenters.

    Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) - Gift Edition

    Girl Who Drank the Moon (Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal) - Gift Edition

    Barnhill, Kelly
    $19.95
    More Info
    Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal
    The New York Times Bestseller

    This gift edition of the New York Times bestselling Newbery Medal-winning novel includes:


    A prequel story set in the world of the novel
    Brand new chapter opening illustrations
    A color map of The Known World

    Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is kind. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey.

    One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna's thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge--with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth's surface. And the woman with the Tiger's heart is on the prowl . . .

    Tyrannosaurus Wrecks

    Tyrannosaurus Wrecks

    Gibbs, Stuart
    $17.99
    More Info
    In the latest novel in New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs's FunJungle series, Teddy Fitzroy returns as FunJungle's resident sleuth to solve his most improbable mystery yet--with a victim that's 65 million years old.

    Teddy was all set for a campout at his friend Sage's family ranch--but then Sage gets terrible news: The skull of a rare dinosaur that was being excavated on his property has mysteriously vanished overnight in the middle of a rainstorm, even though it weighed 500 pounds. Not a single footprint has been left behind. Since the dinosaur was top secret, the police don't believe anyone outside the dig could have stolen it.

    A T-rex skull can sell for millions of dollars, and everyone is a suspect--including J.J. McCracken, the owner of FunJungle.

    Meanwhile, Teddy's old foes, the Barksdale twins, have gotten into trouble with an illegally purchased anaconda, and Teddy's girlfriend Summer wants to find out who's behind the local trade in black market reptiles. The two cases will drag Teddy into more danger and chaos than ever before, in this mystery that's stranger than fiction.

    Coo

    Coo

    Noel, Kaela
    $16.99
    More Info

    In this exceptional debut, one young girl's determination to save the flock she calls family creates a lasting impact on her community and in her heart. Gorgeous and literary, this is an unforgettable animal story about friendship, family, home, and belonging. For readers who love books by Kate DiCamillo and Katherine Applegate.

    Ten years ago, an impossible thing happened: a flock of pigeons picked up a human baby who had been abandoned in an empty lot and carried her, bundled in blankets, to their roof. Coo has lived her entire life on the rooftop with the pigeons who saved her. It's the only home she's ever known. But then a hungry hawk nearly kills Burr, the pigeon she loves most, and leaves him gravely hurt.

    Coo must make a perilous trip to the ground for the first time to find Tully, a retired postal worker who occasionally feeds Coo's flock, and who can heal injured birds. Tully mends Burr's broken wing and coaxes Coo from her isolated life. Living with Tully, Coo experiences warmth, safety, and human relationships for the first time. But just as Coo is beginning to blossom, she learns the human world is infinitely more complex--and cruel--than she could have imagined.

    This remarkable debut novel will captivate readers from the very first line. Coo examines the bonds that make us family, the possibilities of love, and the importance of being true to yourself. Fans of Katherine Applegate, Kate DiCamillo, and Barbara O'Connor will devour this extraordinary story.

    Features black-and-white spot art throughout.

    Here in the Real World

    Here in the Real World

    Pennypacker, Sara
    $17.99
    More Info

    From the author of the highly acclaimed, New York Times bestselling novel Pax comes a gorgeous and moving middle grade novel that is an ode to introverts, dreamers, and misfits everywhere.

    Ware can't wait to spend summer "off in his own world"--dreaming of knights in the Middle Ages and generally being left alone. But then his parents sign him up for dreaded Rec camp, where he must endure Meaningful Social Interaction and whatever activities so-called "normal" kids do.

    On his first day Ware meets Jolene, a tough, secretive girl planting a garden in the rubble of an abandoned church next to the camp. Soon he starts skipping Rec, creating a castle-like space of his own in the church lot.

    Jolene scoffs, calling him a dreamer--he doesn't live in the "real world" like she does. As different as Ware and Jolene are, though, they have one thing in common: for them, the lot is a refuge.

    But when their sanctuary is threatened, Ware looks to the knights' Code of Chivalry: Thou shalt do battle against unfairness wherever faced with it. Thou shalt be always the champion of the Right and Good--and vows to save the lot.

    But what does a hero look like in real life? And what can two misfit kids do?

    Field Guide to the North American Teenager

    Field Guide to the North American Teenager

    Philippe, Ben
    $10.99
    More Info

    William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

    A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience--including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Green. This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

    Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don't bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas.

    Plunked into a new high school and sweating a ridiculous amount from the oppressive Texas heat, Norris finds himself cataloging everyone he meets: the Cheerleaders, the Jocks, the Loners, and even the Manic Pixie Dream Girl. Making a ton of friends has never been a priority for him, and this way he can at least amuse himself until it's time to go back to Canada, where he belongs.

    Yet against all odds, those labels soon become actual people to Norris...like loner Liam, who makes it his mission to befriend Norris, or Madison the beta cheerleader, who is so nice that it has to be a trap. Not to mention Aarti the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, who might, in fact, be a real love interest in the making.

    But the night of the prom, Norris screws everything up royally. As he tries to pick up the pieces, he realizes it might be time to stop hiding behind his snarky opinions and start living his life--along with the people who have found their way into his heart.

    Be Kind

    Be Kind

    Shulman, Naomi
    $12.95
    More Info
    In a world where people spend more time engaging through screens than in real-life interaction, showing basic human kindness can feel like a lost art. Be Kind offers children aged 5 and up simple, actionable things they can do in their daily lives that help them cultivate kindness toward others and grow into people with the capacity to make the world a kinder place.

    In Be Kind, kids learn that kindness is a quality that can be expressed in ways other than merely being "nice," including standing up for someone or something, engaging in a community, showing compassion toward other beings, and expressing gratitude. With joyful illustrations and kid-friendly writing, this idea book serves as a delightful, easy-to-read collection of 125 concrete activities kids and their families can pick and choose from and act out in their daily lives, whether it's being the first person to say good morning, offering compliments, shoveling an elderly neighbor's driveway, learning to say hello in different languages, or sending a card to someone -- no special occasion required. On every page, Be Kind empowers kids to make the world a better, kinder place, one action at a time.

    2019 Mom's Choice Award Gold Winner
    2020 NAPPA Award Winner