View your shopping cart.

 20% of each sale through this site goes to support the NewGate School when you use the coupon code NEWGATE during checkout. 

Banner Message

Due to COVID-19, we anticipate delays in order processing and shipping.
We apologize for any delays and are doing our best to deliver orders as quickly as possible.

New Gate

Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs

Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs

America's Test Kitchen Kids
$19.99

The #1 New York Times Best Seller!
IACP Award Winner

Want to bake the most-awesome-ever cupcakes? Or surprise your family with breakfast tacos on Sunday morning? Looking for a quick snack after school? Or maybe something special for a sleepover? It's all here. Learn to cook like a pro--it's easier than you think.

For the first time ever, America's Test Kitchen is bringing their scientific know-how, rigorous testing, and hands-on learning to KIDS in the kitchen!

Using kid-tested and approved recipes, America's Test Kitchen has created THE cookbook every kid chef needs on their shelf. Whether you're cooking for yourself, your friends, or your family, The Complete Cookbook for Young Chefs has delicious recipes that will wow!

  • Recipes were thoroughly tested by more than 750 kids to get them just right for cooks of all skill levels--including recipes for breakfast, snacks and beverages, dinners, desserts, and more.
  • Step-by-step photos of tips and techniques will help young chefs feel like pros in their own kitchen
  • Testimonials (and even some product reviews!) from kid test cooks who worked alongside America's Test Kitchen will encourage young chefs that they truly are learning the best recipes from the best cooks.
  • By empowering young chefs to make their own choices in the kitchen, America's Test Kitchen is building a new generation of confident cooks, engaged eaters, and curious experimenters.

    Tyrannosaurus Wrecks

    Tyrannosaurus Wrecks

    Gibbs, Stuart
    $17.99
    In the latest novel in New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs's FunJungle series, Teddy Fitzroy returns as FunJungle's resident sleuth to solve his most improbable mystery yet--with a victim that's 65 million years old.

    Teddy was all set for a campout at his friend Sage's family ranch--but then Sage gets terrible news: The skull of a rare dinosaur that was being excavated on his property has mysteriously vanished overnight in the middle of a rainstorm, even though it weighed 500 pounds. Not a single footprint has been left behind. Since the dinosaur was top secret, the police don't believe anyone outside the dig could have stolen it.

    A T-rex skull can sell for millions of dollars, and everyone is a suspect--including J.J. McCracken, the owner of FunJungle.

    Meanwhile, Teddy's old foes, the Barksdale twins, have gotten into trouble with an illegally purchased anaconda, and Teddy's girlfriend Summer wants to find out who's behind the local trade in black market reptiles. The two cases will drag Teddy into more danger and chaos than ever before, in this mystery that's stranger than fiction.

    Coo

    Coo

    Noel, Kaela
    $16.99

    In this exceptional debut, one young girl's determination to save the flock she calls family creates a lasting impact on her community and in her heart. Gorgeous and literary, this is an unforgettable animal story about friendship, family, home, and belonging. For readers who love books by Kate DiCamillo and Katherine Applegate.

    Ten years ago, an impossible thing happened: a flock of pigeons picked up a human baby who had been abandoned in an empty lot and carried her, bundled in blankets, to their roof. Coo has lived her entire life on the rooftop with the pigeons who saved her. It's the only home she's ever known. But then a hungry hawk nearly kills Burr, the pigeon she loves most, and leaves him gravely hurt.

    Coo must make a perilous trip to the ground for the first time to find Tully, a retired postal worker who occasionally feeds Coo's flock, and who can heal injured birds. Tully mends Burr's broken wing and coaxes Coo from her isolated life. Living with Tully, Coo experiences warmth, safety, and human relationships for the first time. But just as Coo is beginning to blossom, she learns the human world is infinitely more complex--and cruel--than she could have imagined.

    This remarkable debut novel will captivate readers from the very first line. Coo examines the bonds that make us family, the possibilities of love, and the importance of being true to yourself. Fans of Katherine Applegate, Kate DiCamillo, and Barbara O'Connor will devour this extraordinary story.

    Features black-and-white spot art throughout.

    Here in the Real World

    Here in the Real World

    Pennypacker, Sara
    $17.99

    From the author of the highly acclaimed, New York Times bestselling novel Pax comes a gorgeous and moving middle grade novel that is an ode to introverts, dreamers, and misfits everywhere.

    Ware can't wait to spend summer "off in his own world"--dreaming of knights in the Middle Ages and generally being left alone. But then his parents sign him up for dreaded Rec camp, where he must endure Meaningful Social Interaction and whatever activities so-called "normal" kids do.

    On his first day Ware meets Jolene, a tough, secretive girl planting a garden in the rubble of an abandoned church next to the camp. Soon he starts skipping Rec, creating a castle-like space of his own in the church lot.

    Jolene scoffs, calling him a dreamer--he doesn't live in the "real world" like she does. As different as Ware and Jolene are, though, they have one thing in common: for them, the lot is a refuge.

    But when their sanctuary is threatened, Ware looks to the knights' Code of Chivalry: Thou shalt do battle against unfairness wherever faced with it. Thou shalt be always the champion of the Right and Good--and vows to save the lot.

    But what does a hero look like in real life? And what can two misfit kids do?

    --Booklist
    Be Kind

    Be Kind

    Shulman, Naomi
    $12.95

    In a world where people spend more time engaging through screens than in real-life interaction, showing basic human kindness can feel like a lost art. Be Kindoffers children aged 5 and up simple, actionable things they can do in their daily lives that help them cultivate kindness toward others and grow into people with the capacity to make the world a kinder place.

     

    In Be Kind, kids learn that kindness is a quality that can be expressed in ways other than merely being "nice," including standing up for someone or something, engaging in a community, showing compassion toward other beings, and expressing gratitude. With joyful illustrations and kid-friendly writing, this idea book serves as a delightful, easy-to-read collection of 125 concrete activities kids and their families can pick and choose from and act out in their daily lives, whether it's being the first person to say good morning, offering compliments, shoveling an elderly neighbor's driveway, learning to say hello in different languages, or sending a card to someone -- no special occasion required. On every page, Be Kindempowers kids to make the world a better, kinder place, one action at a time.

     

    2019 Mom's Choice Award Gold Winner
    2020 NAPPA Award Winner

    Heather says: What a wonderful book for children! Simple ways to show kindness.