View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Did you have trouble finding what you were looking for?
Click here for our special store for hard-to-find and used items. 

14 And Up

Tyler Johnson Was Here

Tyler Johnson Was Here

Coles, Jay
$10.99
A young man searches for answers after the death of his brother at the hands of police in this striking debut novel, for readers of The Hate U Give.

When Marvin Johnson's twin, Tyler, goes to a party, Marvin decides to tag along to keep an eye on his brother. But what starts as harmless fun turns into a shooting, followed by a police raid.

The next day, Tyler has gone missing, and it's up to Marvin to find him. But when Tyler is found dead, a video leaked online tells an even more chilling story: Tyler has been shot and killed by a police officer. Terrified as his mother unravels and mourning a brother who is now a hashtag, Marvin must learn what justice and freedom really mean.

Tyler Johnson Was Here is a powerful and moving portrait of youth and family that speaks to the serious issues of today--from gun control to the Black Lives Matter movement.

Hunger Games, The

Collins, Suzanne
$12.99
Ballad & Dagger (An Outlaw Saints Novel)

Ballad & Dagger (An Outlaw Saints Novel)

Daniel Jose Older
$18.99
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Daniel José Older's music-and-magic-filled YA urban fantasy about two teens who discover each other and their powers during a political battle within a unique diaspora community.

Brimming with mystery, mayhem, and heart, Ballad and Dagger gives us wondrous new magic steeped in deep traditions. It's a gorgeous romance, a wild adventure, and a powerful story that unravels not only the pain of diaspora, but the strength of community and the ways we provide refuge for one another.--Leigh Bardugo, New York Times #1 best-selling author of Shadow and Bone

A new, magical world full of rich folklore and hitting all the right notes.--Kirkus Reviews

Almost sixteen years ago, Mateo Matisse's island homeland disappeared into the sea. Weary and hopeless, the survivors of San Madrigal's sinking escaped to New York.

While the rest of his tight-knit Brooklyn diaspora community dreams of someday finding a way back home, Mateo--now a high school junior and piano prodigy living with his two aunts (one who's alive, the other not so much)--is focused on one thing: getting the attention of locally-grown musical legend Gerval. Mateo finally gets his chance on the night of the Grand Fete, an annual party celebrating the blended culture of pirates, Cuban Santeros, and Sephardic Jews that created San Madrigal all those centuries ago.

But the evil that sank their island has finally caught up with them, and on the night of the celebration, Mateo's life is forever changed when he witnesses a brutal murder by a person he thought he knew.

Suddenly Mateo is thrust into an ancient battle that spans years and oceans. Deadly secrets are unraveled and Mateo awakens a power within himself--a power that not only links him to the killer but could also hold the key to unlocking the dark mystery behind his lost homeland.

From the author of the award-winning Shadowshaper Cypher series comes the first novel in the Outlaw Saints duology--a brilliant story that will transport readers to a world where magic, myth, and gods reign over the streets of Brooklyn.

Don't miss these other Rick Riordan Presents titles for all ages:

  • Sal and Gabi Break the Universe by Carlos Hernandez
  • Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee
  • Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by Kwame Mbalia
  • Paola Santiago and the River of Tears by Tehlor Kay Mejia



  • 13th Reality Books 1 & 2: The Journal of Curious Letters; The Hunt for Dark Infinity

    Dashner, James
    $12.99
    Legendborn

    Legendborn

    Deonn, Tracy
    $18.99
    An Instant New York Times Bestseller!
    Winner of the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award

    Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn's YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic.

    After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her family memories or childhood home. A residential program for bright high schoolers at UNC-Chapel Hill seems like the perfect escape--until Bree witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus.

    A flying demon feeding on human energies.

    A secret society of so called "Legendborn" students that hunt the creatures down.

    And a mysterious teenage mage who calls himself a "Merlin" and who attempts--and fails--to wipe Bree's memory of everything she saw.

    The mage's failure unlocks Bree's own unique magic and a buried memory with a hidden connection: the night her mother died, another Merlin was at the hospital. Now that Bree knows there's more to her mother's death than what's on the police report, she'll do whatever it takes to find out the truth, even if that means infiltrating the Legendborn as one of their initiates.

    She recruits Nick, a self-exiled Legendborn with his own grudge against the group, and their reluctant partnership pulls them deeper into the society's secrets--and closer to each other. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur's knights and explain that a magical war is coming, Bree has to decide how far she'll go for the truth and whether she should use her magic to take the society down--or join the fight.

    Diamond Park

    Diamond Park

    Diederich, Phillippe
    $17.99
    A fast-paced YA novel about four Mexican-American teenagers from Houston, a '59 Chevy Impala, and a murder that changes their lives forever.

    Flaco isn't the kind of kid who gets in trouble. He doesn't want to give his mom or his aunt Ana Flor any grief--they've had enough since his cousin Carlos died serving in Afghanistan. But he finds a whole lot more trouble than he bargained for when he and his friends Tiny, Magaña, and Susi ride the bus from their Houston neighborhood to Diamond Park to buy a used car. And not just any car--a 1959 Impala convertible, a dream car. The transaction gets complicated fast, and Susi ends up with a knife in her hands, covered in blood. When Tiny has to disappear to avoid ICE, Flaco and Magaña head south in the Impala to set things right. In a wildly impetuous move, the two boys cross into Mexico hunting for a trafficker named Anaconda, the man they believe is the real killer, to clear Susi's name. In a breathtaking, seat-of-your-pants adventure they manage to kidnap him but in the process they discover how little they ever actually understood about what really happened in Diamond Park.

    Wings of Ebony

    Wings of Ebony

    Elle, J.
    $12.99
    Instant New York Times bestseller!
    "A remarkable, breathtaking, earthshaking, poetic thrillride." --Daniel JoOlder, New York Times bestselling author of Shadowshaper

    In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry and must save both the human and god worlds. Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi Adeyemi, and The Hunger Games!

    "Make a way out of no way" is just the way of life for Rue. But when her mother is shot dead on her doorstep, life for her and her younger sister changes forever. Rue's taken from her neighborhood by the father she never knew, forced to leave her little sister behind, and whisked away to Ghizon--a hidden island of magic wielders.

    Rue is the only half-god, half-human there, where leaders protect their magical powers at all costs and thrive on human suffering. Miserable and desperate to see her sister on the anniversary of their mother's death, Rue breaks Ghizon's sacred Do Not Leave Law and returns to Houston, only to discover that Black kids are being forced into crime and violence. And her sister, Tasha, is in danger of falling sway to the very forces that claimed their mother's life.

    Worse still, evidence mounts that the evil plaguing East Row is the same one that lurks in Ghizon--an evil that will stop at nothing until it has stolen everything from her and everyone she loves. Rue must embrace her true identity and wield the full magnitude of her ancestors' power to save her neighborhood before the gods burn it to the ground.

    House of the Scorpion

    House of the Scorpion

    Farmer, Nancy
    $12.99
    Discover this internationally bestselling, National Book Award-winning young adult classic about what it means to be human with an updated, reimagined cover!

    Matt Alacrán wasn't born. He was harvested.

    His DNA came from El Patrón, the drug-lord ruler of the country of Opium. Most people hate and fear clones like Matt--except for El Patrón. El Patrón loves Matt as he loves himself, because Matt is himself.

    As Matt struggles to understand his existence, he is threatened by a sinister cast of characters, and realizes escape is his only chance to survive. But escape from the Alacrán Estate is no guarantee of freedom.

    Lord of Opium

    Lord of Opium

    Farmer, Nancy
    $12.99
    In the riveting sequel to the acclaimed bestseller The House of the Scorpion, Matt reels from the change in status quo and struggles to do the right thing; find out his story's end in this new edition with a reimagined cover!

    Matt Alacrán is a fourteen-year-old drug lord.

    Until recently, Matt was just a clone grown from a strip of El Patrón's skin. Now he is lord of the land of Opium, on the one-time US-Mexico border, and rules over an army of microchipped, zombielike workers who are programmed to produce the drugs that are Opium's main export. El Patrón kept the air and water in Opium clean, but the rest of the world is a polluted wasteland.

    Matt is sure that, in his new position, he can find a way to break the cycle of violence and destruction--but it will only be possible if he chooses the right people to trust.

    Very Bad People

    Very Bad People

    Frick, Kit
    $19.99
    First editions have an exclusive foil design underneath the jacket!

    In this dark academia young adult thriller for fans of The Female of the Species and People Like Us, a teen girl's search for answers about her mother's mysterious death leads to a powerful secret society at her new boarding school--and a dangerous game of revenge that will leave her forever changed.

    Six years ago, Calliope Bolan's mother drove the family van into a lake with her three daughters inside. The girls escaped, but their mother drowned, and the truth behind the "accident" remains a mystery Calliope is determined to solve. Now sixteen, she transfers to Tipton Academy, the same elite boarding school her mother once attended. Tipton promises a peek into the past and a host of new opportunities--including a coveted invitation to join Haunt and Rail, an exclusive secret society that looms over campus like a legend.

    Calliope accepts, stepping into the exhilarating world of the "ghosts," a society of revolutionaries fighting for social justice. But when Haunt and Rail commits to exposing a dangerous person on campus, it becomes clear that some ghosts define justice differently than others.

    As the society's tactics escalate, Calliope uncovers a possible link between Haunt and Rail and her mother's deadly crash. Now, she must question what lengths the society might go to in order to see a victory--and if the secret behind her mother's death could be buried here at Tipton.