View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Did you have trouble finding what you were looking for?
Click here for our special store for hard-to-find and used items. 

Eight Mountains

Eight Mountains
$16.99

Roxanne says: The book covers the 30 plus year relationship between boyhood friends, who grow in vastly different directions, yet still maintain a rhythm and synchronicity based on their childhood experiences of nature and a small chateau they built in tandem in the Alps. Rarely do men’s relationships get as much attention as sisterhood and the story Cognetti spins adds the context of family dynamics and major life choices.  I admire his ability to convey fraternal love in a subtle, manly production centered story.

For fans of Elena Ferrante and Paulo Coelho comes a moving and elegant novel about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their connection evolves and challenges them throughout their lives. "Few books have so accurately described the way stony heights can define one's sense of joy and rightness...an exquisite unfolding of the deep way humans may love one another" (Annie Proulx). Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the mountains that surround Italy. While on vacation at the foot of the Aosta Valley, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountains' meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life--Bruno's in the mountains, Pietro's across the world--test the strength and meaning of their connection. "A slim novel of startling expansion that subtly echoes its setting" (Vogue), The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. "There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti's writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story...a true novel by a great writer" (Rolling Stone Italia).
ISBN: 
9781501169892
Author: 
Binding: 
Paperback
Publication Date: 
February 19, 2019
0