View your shopping cart.

Banner Message

Due to COVID-19, we anticipate delays in order processing and shipping.
We apologize for any delays and are doing our best to deliver orders as quickly as possible.

Sanditon and Other Stories

Sanditon and Other Stories
In time for the highly-awaited TV series, a new edition of Jane Austen's delightful final work, set in a newly established seaside resort with a glorious cast of hypochondriacs and speculators

In the final months of Jane Austen's life, she began work on a new novel about social drama in the small seaside town of Sanditon, once a small fishing village and now a bustling spa town. In the story of Charlotte Heywood, a new arrival, Austen she contemplated a changing society with a mixture of skepticism and amusement, and notably crafted her only character of color in the mixed-race heiress Miss Lambe. Though unfinished at the time of her death, it is a key work for readers of Jane Austen, and all the moreso with a major upcoming TV adaptation. This volume includes Sanditon, as well as two other lesser-known works, Lady Susan and The Watsons. The early epistolary novel Lady Susan depicts an unscrupulous coquette, toying with several men. And The Watsons is a delightful fragment, whose spirited heroine, Emma, finds her marriage opportunities restricted by poverty and pride. With three vital and less familiar works by one of the most important novelists in the English language, this book is a must-have for Austen fans.

Publication Date: 
January 7, 2020